New electoral rolls for NMC published

Share on facebook
Share on google
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

eLECTORAL ROLThe election commission has not given permission to add, remove or change the names in the published electoral roll. However, the NMC has declared that changes can be made if the names are published wrong in the list or names can be added only if any voter”s name is not on the list in spite of being on the Vidhan Sabha constituency”s list. The voters can present their objection in the related divisional offices until May 27.

The electoral rolls for the by-elections of the Nashik Municipal Corporation”s (NMC) ward no 17 and 61 have been published recently. The NMC has declared that only corrections can be made in these electoral rolls however, adding of new names or increase in supplements will not be done.
Two corporators of the NMC contested the Lok Sabha elections. Accordingly, corporator of ward number 61, Hemant Godse and Congress (now entered in BSP) corporator Dinkar Patil also resigned and thus the position at ward number 17 is also vacant. 
The preparations for by poll elections for both these wards have been started and the electoral rolls have been published as per the orders of the election commission. The electoral rolls are made available at NMC”s Rajeev Gandhi Bhavan, Nashik Road and Satpur divisional offices and also at the contact centres of the state election commission office. 
This roll is as per the eligibility criteria until May 2, 2014 and thus the citizens, who have registered their names even after the NMC elections, will get a chance to vote.

Get more from Nashik

Stay updated on your City


Be in touch with Nashik, Hot and Happening news.